Preparing for the PCT

I’ve wanted to hike the Pacific Crest Trail for decades. Now I’m going to do it – finally!  And there’s a ton of preparation in preparing an adventure such as this!  I’m waiting for the guidebooks and maps to arrive in the mail, while re-checking all my current camp and hiking gear. I’m trying to keep my pack at no more than just over 30 pounds when I start.  For me, pushing 60, that will be plenty.  There are a lot of lightweight hikers out there able to get their packs down to 20 pounds starting weight, which is highly impressive to me!  But in order to save some big buckos, I’m going to hike with my 4 year old gear which is still in great condition, as it hasn’t been used that much, so I’ll be a little heavier than those with all brand-new light-weight gear. 

In researching info for the trail, I came across a great website for any of you out there who are interested in doing something similar… it’s    blackwoodspress.com   Check it out!  It’s everything I need, I think!

I’m hoping to be all prepared, test camped and on the trail by beginning of June. Of course, that is subject to the whims of Nature, and whether she’ll let us finally have summer!

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

