Major Re-Think

Just hung up the phone from speaking with the Russian River snow report folks, and they are saying that the PCT is not hikeable in Oregon until late August. Amazingly, once the trail is snow-free the next snows may not return until March!!!  So late summer all the way through to November and December the trails are expected to be open, and even until late Winter 2011! 

But now I’ve just called another snow level report number at Crater Lake, and they’re saying another week and a half and it should be all melted and good on the PCT.  Sheesh – one hand knoweth not what the other hand does.  So now I’m mainly reading the blogs of the brave souls out there pushing onward to give me the first hand reports of what the trails are like, since there are no Trail Condition reports yet for the PCT in Oregon north of highway 140.

I’m in Ashland, OR, just chomping at the bit to get going, but I’m not interested in hiking in anything other than darn near perfect conditions. After reading some of the other PCT trail journal adventures, though, I’m glad I haven’t gotten out there before the snow has melted. Lost packs and painful injuries don’t sound like the kind of adventure I want at this point of my life.  After all, I AM 58, so I guess once I finally DO get going, my trail name could be “Careful”.  Or “Cautious”.  Or “Patient”.

With the hopes of snow melting fast in the warm weather happening here in Oregon now, my latest re-think is that I may get going by early July, timing my departure from Siskiyou Summit to head north and arrive in the Crater Lake area during the second half of July. Hopefully that will spare me snowy conditions along the trail, but the timing may also mean that I will be the morsel of choice for hordes of mosquitoes.

Meanwhile, the Crocs are getting well broken in on my daily walks and have so far caused me no blisters, only much comfort.  However, I have run across other brands of the same type of shoe that are much more inexpensive – “Ahh Comfort” and “nothingZ” – the first being $10.00 and the latter only $5.00.  What a difference from the $30.00+ I paid for the Crocs!  Nevertheless, the Crocs shall get their walking, one way or the other!  Stay tuned… 🙂

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Major Re-Think

  1. Wow…would not have realized the snow in your area would be like that…BUT…I tried hiking the Tahoe Rim Trail, Kingsbury Grade to Spooner Summit on June 19th…the snow was still so deep could not find trail 4 – 5 miles from Spooner and had to hike back to Kingsbury….it’s June…anyway…will have to attempt again in July!

Leave a Reply

