Rougue River Punt

Yesterday was a good test – I walked 21 miles on the Bear Creek GreenBelt from Ashland to Medford and back. What I learned the hard way is that even though my Teva’s are great for short distances, they don’t work at all for much over 5 miles.  My feet hurt so badly when I returned last evening I had to soak them in Epsom  Salts and hot water, then massage them all night.  Amazingly, this morning they feel fanstastic – no pain whatsoever. And the “Aah!  Comfort” Croc knock-offs feel super, so I’m going to try alot of uphill and downhill with them tomorrow.

Carried only a 12 pound pack yesterday, and the shoulders and back feel fine – can feel the core muscles getting firmer and stronger. Lost 6 pounds somewhere between a week ago and this morning – Yippee!  Legs are getting stronger and flab is starting to firm up.

Discovered that my sunglasses I bought specifically for this summer’s hiking will not work – they seemed fine when I tried them in the store, but out on the trail the view is all distorted due to the curvature of the lens. So when I finally get started I’ll use flat lens sunglasses.

I’ve been reading all the other blogs and journals listed on the pcta.org website, keeping up with what’s happening with all the other through-hikers, and glad I haven’t started yet.  I’ve decided to hike the trail along the Rouge River starting at the end of next week.  It shouldn’t take long, but it will allow more time for snow to melt on the PCT.  Thank you Jim and Wendy for your excellent journal keeping that has greatly helped me decide what to do regarding getting started on the PCT.

As they say in the old MAD axiom, if the conditions for your plans change, you must either Move your plans to someplace where the conditions accomodate your original plans, or Adapt your plans to fit the new conditons, or risk Dying.  Move, Adapt or Die.  MAD.  My plans for the PCT were with summer conditions, which do not exist there yet and may not until late August.  So, I am moving and adapting my plans.  No death wish here 🙂

Looking forward now to following the Rogue River as it runs to the Pacific Ocean.  It should be a beautiful hike. Looking forward to some summer days on a wild and scenic riverway.  I’ll recheck the PCT when I’m done hiking the Rogue.

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

