10-Days Til Blast-Off!

Finally!  Just talked with a knowledgeable forest service hiker here in Ashland, OR, and learned that in 10 days the trails should be very good to go! Also called Gifford Pinchot National Forest and they are saying the same!  I am so excited I can barely stand it! 

After reading all the other thru-hikers and part-way hikers journals I’ve been beside myself, like a pony left at the gate while all the others have gone running in the field.  Now there is a date that I’m shooting for to set off from the Columbia River north through Washington State.

My goal is to at least complete one state’s worth of PCT.  Originally I had intended to hike over a thousand miles, but late winter storms dumping unusual loads of spring snow in the entire northwest have made me have to change plans and learn lots of patience.

If I were going with someone else, and was in excellent shape already, and didn’t mind using crampons and ice picks and camping in the snow, I could’ve left long ago. But that’s not what this season is about for me.  I want summer hiking, no snow, no raging rivers to cross, and a low-risk beautiful time in the wilderness.

So FINALLY!  I’m shooting for departing on the PCT from the Columbia River crossing on July 22, 2010.  Looking forward to possibly meeting some of the hikers whose journals I’ve been reading.  The clock is ticking, I’m on countdown…stay tuned 🙂

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10-Days Til Blast-Off!

  1. Susan Jones says:

    what a pleasant surprise to hear from you today, Say! Wishing you the Best of Everyting! Thanks for inviting me to your blog, I will enjoy your journey with you. I’m going to make the .4 mile trail to the falls, my goal… Bone on Bone or not!

Leave a Reply

