Giddyup, L’il Pony!

Yay!  I’m finally out of the gates tomorrow morning (Saturday, July 30) leaving from I-5 where the PCT crosses just south of Ashland, OR.  I’ve already met a couple other hikers who arrived in town this morning and will also be leaving tomorrow – Digger and YuVa  I think – my memory is probably incorrect on the latter. He’s a young Israeli man who was in tandem with 2 other Israelis who were called the Israeli Gears, until he hooked up with Digger and is now hiking faster than his friends, as he needs to get back to Israel sooner than they. It was GREAT to meet them and hear some trail info and see how fit they are.  Hopefully I’ll be that fit by the end of Oregon!

My pack weighs about 37 pounds – that’s about 7 more pounds than I was hoping it would weigh, but it’ll get lighter as the food disappears.   Sent off food to the future drops this afternoon, and now wrapping up the last details (charging camera and cell phone batteries, grabbing a last minute shower, etc.) before calling it an evening.

The weather looks good, and I’m hoping to average about 15 miles a day. Digger and his friend are doing 30 miles a day!  I told them if I didn’t see them in the morning, I’m sure I’d be eating their dust! 🙂

The only thing that is concerning me is my leg – it got injured when I tried a hardshell kayak on the Rogue River and tried a wet-exit – couldn’t get out of the kayak and when I ended up yanking my body out, my left leg received an injury just below the knee. Feels like a minor fracture or compression of the soft part of the bone, or something. I massage it alot and it has been getting better slowly, but it’s still stiff and aching in the mornings.  So I’ll be gentling it along the trail til it feels 100%.

I’m looking forward to seeing Crater Lake – plan to write the next blog from there in about a week, hopefully 🙂  Be well, everyone.

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Giddyup, L’il Pony!

  1. Sayward, I’m so inspired by your journey. I know you’ll be feeling strong and fit in a week. I just spent 4 days hiking in Greer, AZ and came home feeling pretty darn fit and strong – and we only did a few miles a day.

    I look forward to your next post. I’ll be hiking along with you in spirit.

    Go Girl!

  2. Good luck girlfriend, and take care of yourself! I’m glad that you’re finally getting to hit the trail and look forward to a photo of Crater lake, which I hear is spectacular:). blessings-

  3. Sue Brown says:

    Say,
    I look forward to your updates along the trail. Hope your leg doesn’t give you problems. I am envious. Putting off the wonderland was not easy to do. How are the Mosquitos and the snow?

Leave a Reply

