Second Section

Breaking from the trail to exchange my boots was the best thing to do!  I cleaned them up and took them back to Sportsman’s Warehouse, and they TOOK THEM BACK!  Thank YOU, Bruce, the Manager at the Medford store, so VERY much!  I now have size 9.5 to wear on my size 7 feet, so I am sure they will not feel the squeeze now as I lug the 30+ pound pack around the mountains!

AND…thank you so much, Janiene, for having your daughter deliver my camping supplies to my brother – I picked them up yesterday and retrieved my coveted bivy sack along with the other things.  Now I’ll be toasty and dry if the damp nights decide to descend again.

From Salem I drove to Sisters yesterday evening and have met friendly and helpful people every step of the way. At the Health Food Store I met Heather who invited me to leave my car in her driveway while I hike Crescent Lake to Sisters. Internet, food, bathrooms, truck assistance, laundry…all people have been extraordinarily helpful!

Send-Off Salmon Ceasar Salad In Sisters, OR

At Three Creeks Brewing Co. I enjoyed the most delicious Salmon Ceasar Salad seated outside in the late evening sun, then went and watched “Charlie St. Cloud” at the cool little Movie Theater just across the drive from the restaurant.

Now I’m gearing up for this next section and intend to hitchhike today from Sisters to Crescent Lake, retrieve my food mailed to the lake’s resort, and perhaps get a few miles in up the trail late this afternoon if all goes well.  This section should take about a week, especially if I don’t do full 15 mile days, which I doubt I will.  More adventures to come next week…stay tuned :)

Feasting before the next hike

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Second Section

  1. Sophia says:

    Have a safe and joyful journey, Say!
    much love to you, sister!
    Sophia

Leave a Reply

