The Next Leg

It was Friday the 13th … I rose with the dawn,

Knowing the hours soon would be gone,

Raced to the coffee shop, laundry and store

for Moleskin and clean clothes and blog update chore.

A ride from Sisters to Bend with “Big Ed”

then another with Clint and one with Ingrid,

got me to Hwy 58 where I caught

yet one last ride to the mountaintop

where the road crosses Willamette Pass

with Dustin and Mo, after collecting my stash

of food at Shelter Cove Resort, so lovely and kind,

at last I was off on the PCT grind.

And that was how the Willamette Pass to MacKenzie Pass section started, with a bunch a great folks in Sisters and along the road who delivered me to the PCT trailhead at the Willamette Pass.  Directly after tromping up the trail a few hundred yards I met “Raven”, a high-school physics teacher from

Pale Pink Bells along Trail

Michigan, heading south with no pack. We stood and talked a bit, and I was anxious to get going as I wanted to get in the 3.5 miles to Rosary Lakes and set-up camp…the day was wearing on and I wanted to rest a little – it had been quite a scamper to get so much done in one day already just to get to the trail.  Just then “Hummingbird” zoomed by and I waved good-bye to Raven and followed Hummingbird for a few hundred feet learning a little about her – she’s hiking the full through hike – Mexico to Canada – and doing upwards of 50 miles a day!  Then she swooped off and I was hiking alone through the beautiful woods to the Rosary Lakes.

Lower Rosary Lake

I arrived at the Lower Lake Rosary (there are three, the Middle and Upper) and found a great place to set up the tent, went for a swim, sunbathed, luxuriated in the Nature and watched little gray dragonflies…it was heaven-sent, and I was exceedingly content and fulfilled to be back on the trail again. The quiet, the peace, the beauty, the scents…everything around was perfect, the earth as it is meant to be.

Early Morning Sun on Lower Rosary Lake

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

