Blessed Haven

Thursday morning dawned and my entire body ached as I slowly went through the motions of getting up and situated …I was in such a strange head space I couldn’t decide what needed to be done first, so I called Ingrid.  She lives in Bend, and had given me a lift on 97 when I was making my way south to the Willamette Pass to begin this last section. During that ride she had offered her shower when I got back from the trail. The idea of a shower sounded delicious, and when she answered her phone she welcomed me over to take one.

For the rest of Thursday, Friday and Saturday morning, I stayed at Ingrid’s place. Her hospitality was so warm and inviting that I couldn’t say no. She has a beautiful dog, Panda, who I enjoyed walking and giving belly-rubs to, and for my last evening there another dog joined us, too – Gee.  He was an old boy, a little gimp in the hind-quarters, but such a love.  And their eyes…ahhh, they seem so smart to me.

Every day at Ingrid’s was a challenge to get the comfort of my body back. The feet, knees, legs and hips have been so sore that it’s been almost impossible to walk correctly. I massage my legs and feet every night in bed, and do stretches in the day, but still it seems to take a long time for the body to recover after so much walking with a heavy pack.

Finally, by Saturday morning, my body seemed to have recovered fairly well except for two or three toes in the middle of each foot still felt a little numb.  Ingrid and I said fond farewells with promises to stay in touch and see each other again – I feel she is a sister in spirit – and I headed off to Cascade Locks to get staged for the next and last segment in Oregon this summer.

The drive north was overcast and ominous looking – low dark clouds across the entire expanse of sky made me wonder whether I might not get this last section finished. I am a fair weather hiker only – no snow, no day-after-day downpours, no freezing temperatures…no thanks!

Upon arriving at Hood Canal, I immediately set out to find an excellent steak house, and I ate a terrific tasting hunk of beef (grain-fed, no hormones) which I rarely do, a large baked potato and fresh garden vegetables with a savory glass of red wine.  Then I hurt in my middle all night – ahhhh, the price of indulgence.   But today I feel fantastic, and after checking the 10-day forecast it looks as though I can start hiking tomorrow!  YAY!!! So I’m off to Cascade Locks to secure a safe place for the truck to park, and prepare for the next adventure… which starts tomorrow!

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Hiking the PCT. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

