My Magical Refrigerator

Within a couple days of finishing the Pacific Crest Trail through Oregon and arriving at Cascade Locks for the PCT Trailfest Days, the weather turned.  Gray, cold, rainy and gloomy, I sped up to Washington state, checked out my property for sale one more time (http://northwestmountaintopproperty.com) and returned to Salem to ready the RV for travel south.

The first thing I attended to was getting the refrigerator turned on – and guess what – it decided not to.  I begged, pleaded, softly cajoled it…even prayed to it, and after an hour of trying everything I could think of – from cleaning it’s entire outside operating box to spraying WD-40 on the little slide switch inside, it still stubbornly refused to operate.  I was not knowing what to do, needing some assistance, when I saw a large truck drive by my rig in the storage compound.  I stepped out beyond my rig and saw where he parked, and walked down to greet him.

Evening in Salem from RV storage area

He was a lovely soft-spoken gentleman, and immediately came to my assistance.  He looked at the belly-guts of my refrigerator and determined it might be that the thermo-coupler wasn’t sensing the heat from the flame the gas and igniter were making. We tried cleaning the thermo-coupler and tried turning on the refrigerator repeatedly, and though it would stay on a little longer before it clicked off, it still couldn’t stay on permanently. Byron, my new friend, told me it wouldn’t cost that much to replace the thermo-coupler, and that’s what I might have to do to get it working again.

Rainbow of Hope through cold skies

Byron went back to his boat that was in the storage area, and I decided to try one last time. I took the little green scrubbie I keep in my RV kitchen, and gently swiped across the top of the thermo-coupler, then re-wiped it with a clean paper towel, and switched the refrigerator on one last time…Miracle of Miracles!  It stayed on!  It was running!  Getting colder inside!  I couldn’t believe it!  I went down to Byron’s boat to share the good news with him!  What a relief to have that puppy working again!

From there it was a matter of 30 minutes to having the rig ready to roll.  The gray and rain was still intermittent and it was cold as winter to my skin.  Southern Oregon is the warm part of the state, so I headed south, hoping to make Ashland by the next day. Little did I know what was up next.

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Pursuing the World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Magical Refrigerator

  1. Sophia says:

    Hi Say,
    What a great story. I admire your resourcefulness and persistence. Way to go!
    Sending much love your way,
    Sophia

  2. Joel says:

    this is a phenomenal story. it tells of everyday difficulty and triumph a huge thing that is often skipped over. i’m excited to hear more about your travels!

    – joel

Leave a Reply

