Ashland’s Beautiful JuJu

One lovely evening walking through downtown Main Street checking out the upcoming flicks at the Varsity Theatre, I crossed the street to find a lovely cellar restaurant/wine shop, and met the owners – Lynne and John.  We enjoyed visiting with each other while I ate their scrumptuous salmon cake dish and sipped a glass of delicious Syrah.  Within a few minutes, Lynne was inviting me to park my RV on their ranch, so a couple days later I re-situated myself up to their gorgeous property.

Lynne and John and Ahi Dinner

During that incredible week of beauty and peace, I prepared for my globe-trotting journey by cleaning up the rig, packing and organizing. On the last day at their place we rode horses up the end of their lovely valley, and finished the day off with a delicious Ahi dinner prepared by Lynne. It was such a blessing and gift to have met them and enjoyed their friendship and hospitality.

The last couple days before leaving Ashland I stayed with my friend Pam and met more wonderful folks. Dinner parties and surprise meetings with fellow therapists at the Japanese bath house and other incredible good juju kept unfolding for my entire stay in Ashland.

My friend Pam and I shared movies and meals and even a storage space together, bless her heart, and it was great fun to have a woman friend to do things with – I’m usually quite solo.

The day before departing I stopped in at Lithia Inn and met Duane, the owner. He has healed himself from Diabetes by changing his diet, and is well aware of nutritional healing. We discussed the possibility of me holding future health retreats at his oh-so-lovely Inn while watching the ultra large colorful Coy in his pond from a comfortable wooden bench – such a peaceful and beautiful sanctuary he has created.

Finally, the RV and truck were both in storage and I was ready to begin my round-the-world bucket-list-fulfilling sojourn.  Pam drove me to the highway on-ramp at the south end of Ashland, hugged and waved me good-bye, and with a prayer to the heavens above for more wonders to unfold, I stuck out my thumb.

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Pursuing the World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

