Pulling a 180!

Sunset in DelRay Beach

Well, it may have been those Coral Castle chairs that finally answered my questions – two chairs connected, but each facing opposite directions.  My plans for traveling the Caribbean and then Brazil were not looking just right to me…calls I had in to several Brazilian agencies regarding my visa were not being responded to. And the few folks that I had contacted about crewing with them to the Caribbean had not looked right, and you know what I do then, if you’ve been following this blog for any length of time – I refuse them. Turn Away, Folks. Listen to your intuition. If it doesn’t resonate correctly with you, back off and wait.

Yellow Flag at DelRay Beach

So, I did. And it finally dawned on me. Such a simple understanding. I wanted to be with people I cared about, and shared friendship with, over the holidays. I also wanted to see the International Film Festival in Palm Springs which is always excellent and a great cultural uplift – it happens the first two weeks of January annually. I called a dear girlfriend back in Palm Springs to see if I could visit awhile and we worked out a nice

Yellow Flag is Moderate Warning

arrangement for my stay in her spare bedroom. I checked Craigslist Rideshare link and found a ride from Florida going west to San Diego and then on up to Seattle, departing Florida the very day I was scheduled to turn in my rental car.

My plans now are to spend the holidays and a little longer in Palm Springs in one place under one roof sleeping in one bed and get re-organized for the next leg of my adventure which I think may be a couple months house-sitting in New Zealand while I also spend some time hiking its fabulous mountains. We’ll see. Meanwhile, I feel a great relief in making this decision. I would still love to visit the Caribbean some day, but now does not feel like the time.

White Sand of DelRay Beach

I still had 3 more days until my ride west – Mark – would pick me up at the Daytona Beach International Airport – so I still had time to visit a couple of great girlfriends in Florida before heading home to California. The first girlfriend I visited is in the same line of work I am in – helping others get and stay healthy. The other girlfriend was a guest at one of my retreats several years ago, and one of my biggest success stories for turn-around health. I couldn’t wait to see them both!

Shells Galore on the Beaches

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Pursuing the World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pulling a 180!

  1. Rob says:

    We’re all looking forward to your return to the Northwest. You are the ultimate road-tripper, best I’ve ever known, and have much appreciated your sharing your adventures with us home-bound folks so we can enjoy them vicariously. Have a safe and fun journey home.

  2. Rob says:

    You are the ultimate road-tripper, the best I’ve ever known. Thank you so much for sharing your adventures so us home-bound folks can enjoy them vicariously. Have a safe trip home, and we look forward to getting you back in the Northwest.

Leave a Reply

