Hamazons, Eyeballs & Goat-Mama

Grant helping to prepare a pre-Hamazon performance meal

After an all-night ride from San Francisco, we arrived in Medford at the Storage center where my truck was.  Mark and his brother helped me jump-start my old Toyota, and away they drove heading on up to Seattle, where they would arrive almost a full day ahead of Mark’s original schedule.

I wheeled my truck down to Ashland and met up with my friend, Grant, for a delicious lunch and catch-up on the happenings in the area.  A short time later I had moved my things out of another friend’s storage unit and back into my RV, and was about to head out of town and drive all the way over to Arcata, CA, when Grant invited me to attend a group of his friends for the evening show of “Hamazons – Warrior Princesses of Comedy.” I’d not heard of them before, but love a good stage show filled with laughter, and that’s what it was supposed to be, so I stayed. And they delivered! The audience was in stitches all night! It helped loosen up my road fatigue and was exactly what I needed for a good night’s sleep.

Pre-Hamazon performance dinner with Grant and his friends

If you’ve never heard or seen these 4 extraordinary women before, you might make it a point to do so – they are incredibly talented, lightening quick and very, very funny. There website is: http://www.hamazons.com

That night I stayed at a friend of Grant’s in Ashville in my own bedroom – how delightful! Just as I was leaving in the morning, Grant rode up on his bike – what fortuitous timing! We said good-byes, and I was off for Arcata.  The drive from Grants Pass to Crescent City was partially sunny and the rivers were higher than I’d ever seen before – and I’ve been in the Northwest almost all my life! Plenty of water everywhere!

Erich pontificating over his Latte

In Arcata I visited Erich and his daughter Heidi and her husband, Bran and their children, my old high school girlfriend Judi, and some dear old friends – Delores and Ernie – that were our neighbors back in the mid-60’s when I was in grade school! Their sons and my brothers were friends, and used to play down at Jacoby Creek, fishing and hunting and what not, as young boys do.   It was great to see these wonderful family friends again, and be back in the area I knew so well.

Celores and Ernie at their home

While at Heidi’s house one evening, the young woman, Skrollan, staying a school season on the International Student Exchange Program was giving a demonstration of how she could make her eyes go in different directions, and unbeknownst to me, Heidi’s daughter Jenia was videoing it with

Judi, one of my best friends from Eureka High School

my camera!  So it’s here for you to enjoy!  I’ve never seen eyeballs do what her eyeballs did that evening!  She may be able to capitalize on that talent someday, but at the moment I’m not sure how 🙂 Heidi’s youngest daughter, Anya, had created an exceptionally beautiful painting which we were all adoring and I got a quick snap of it.

Anya’s wonderful painting

Before leaving on Tuesday morning, Erich and I took a quick morning trip down to Fortuna to visit C.Crane Company. I hear their ads all the time on “Coast to Coast AM” with George Noory, but had never visited their store.  Since it was only 20 or so miles south of Eureka, we bopped down for a quick look-see:  I was looking for a light-weight small backpacking radio, and Erich was looking for a radio for one of the rooms in his house.

Loleta’s Great Little Bakery

In Loleta, just before Fortuna, we stopped in at a great little Bakery and tasted their delicious goods. When we returned from our trip, we each had the radio of our choice.

I left Arcata about 1 p.m on Tuesday and headed to my girlfriend Kay’s home just east of Redding in a small community called Round Mountain. She’s at 7,000′ elevation and she and her hubby Ed have a beautiful little farm there with cows, dogs, and goats! A year and a half ago Kay purchased her first two little girl goats – does, like a deer.  The petite little goats she decided to get are Nigerian Dwarf goats, and stand just over two feet tall at their heads. When I visited this time, she now had 5 does, one buck and one wether – a male goat that has had his testacles removed via a tight rubber band…ugh!

Kay petting one of the Doe goats

Kay thinks that all of her does are now pregnant and expects to see her kids popping by end of January. If things go Kay’s way, she plans to make goat cheese. She’s never made goat cheese before, but that’s Kay for you!  She can do anything!  You should see her gigantic vegetable and berry gardens, the quilts she handmakes, and her fabulous paintings!  She is an artist extraordinaire. If you want to see some of her creative work, email her at pknichols2004@yahoo.com

The rest of Kay’s Goat Herd

and she will send you pictures of what she can do. Ever since she and I were great buds in junior high and high school, Kay has always been one of the best artists I’ve ever known.

After visiting Kay and Ed for an evening and a morning, I headed down to California, driving almost a full 12 hours straight to arrive in Palm Springs at 10:30 p.m. on Wednesday night.  I had circumfrenced the entire “lower 48” of the United States in exactly 2 months, using only Craigslist rides, hitchhiking, Amtrak train, rental cars and now at last, my own little truck for the final leg of this journey down to southern California. I plan to stay in Palm Springs for a little while in order to prepare for the NEXT adventure: To Be Announced!  Meanwhile – Have an incredible Holiday Season, everyone, with friends, loved ones and yes, even strangers :)), and I wish you all the best New Year ever!        P.S. After spending 2 hours trying to figure out how to attach Skrollen’s eyeballs video into this blog, I’m giving up!  Anyone out there know how to do it, email me and I’ll try again!  thanks!

Bran trying to cut the ultra-delicious frozen chocolate Torte

Erich, Heidi and her kaboodle

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Pursuing the World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hamazons, Eyeballs & Goat-Mama

  1. Kay says:

    Such fun! I will be waiting in anticipation for the next leg of the journey. Hope it includes my area again!

  2. Sophia says:

    HI Say,
    I hope you had a wonderful Winter Solstice and full eclipse…powerful energies. Sounds like you have had quite the journey with lots of good friends, food and interesting? places. I bet you are happy though, to settle in for awhile during the winter months and do some inner work, possibly. Thinking of you and want you to know how grateful I am that you are in my life….we are all one! Have a very merry everything and many blessings for a transformational new year. BTW, how are your eyes doing?
    Much love, Sophia

  3. Sophia says:

    Love the goaters and Anya’s painting! I love that kind of art.

  4. Rosalie Tracy says:

    Hello,
    This is the AAA lady of PS. So good to see you again and I am enjoying reading of your journey-so many places I have visited and enjoyed as well.
    I wish you the best.
    Rosalie
    951.313.7263

Leave a Reply

