Last Day in Paradise – er, Paraty!

Early Morning Beach Walk in Paraty

May 23rd, 2011 – This was to be my last full day in Brazil. Breakfast was a little late being served at Hostel Che Legaro, but finally it was all on the table by 8:30 or so. After breakfast I set out for a walk in a contemplative mood – this would be my last relaxing day, as the following day would be all about traveling back to the U.S. I would be leaving Paraty in the morning, taking several buses to get to the Airport in Sao Paulo, and catching a flight at 9 p.m. for Dallas, where I would connect through to Los Angeles, and be picked up by a shuttle service to arrive back in Palm Springs. I decided not to think about it, and to focus on my last day in Paraty.

Paddling to a Small Island

I crossed over the waterway footbridge and walked up the beach to a kayak rental shop where I checked on the price. He didn’t have the type of kayak I was looking for, so he suggested I try the shops over the hill along the beach to the north. It was a short walk up the cobblestone street over the hill – stunning views – that descended down on to beach town of Jabaquara. The beach was quiet – no one out on it yet. The main street running along the beach was lined with many Hostels, Hotels and Pousadas.

On a Private Beach

The Hostel that rented the kayaks had the style of kayak I was looking for, and I rented it for 2 hours. I paddled out to and around an island where I watched fishermen setting out their nets, cormorants drying their wings, and a large heron eyeing me closely. From there I paddled a long stretch of water to a distant, privately owned beach. Leaving the kayak above the wave break, I explored the beach front a little, then ate lunch – apple and nuts. On the property just back from the water was a stone home, driveways and paths that spoke of an era my grandparents would have known. It was idyllically serene.

Above the Private Beach

From there I paddled back to the beach I had launched from at Jabaquara, and returned the kayak. Oozing with calm and peace, I spread myself out on the blond sand beach and baked in the sun awhile.

As I lay there I was thinking how pictures cannot capture the texture of the sand, the scent in

Fisherman Setting Nets

the air, the sensuousness of the breeze on the skin, the warmth of the sun penetrating to the bone, the brilliant green of the hills, the vibrant abundance and euphoria emanating from all the surrounding plants, trees and flowers. No picture I could take could capture what I was experiencing – you will simply have to come to Paraty!

Birds of Paradise

Later in the afternoon I walked back into Paraty, checked my bus ticket for the next day to see if there wasn’t a later bus I could take that would still connect me on to the Airport in time – there wasn’t – and back to the Hostel Che Legaro for a shower and later on, another evening walk before bed. It had been the biggest gift of the trip, to have spent those last two days in Paraty. I could not think of any other place in Brazil I’d been to that I’d rather have been for my last days. The trip to Brazil had turned out better than I could have dreamed. Now I just had to make all the proper bus connections to get back the States.

Paraty in the Evening Sun

An Old Canon Still Defending the Fort of Paraty

A Section of the Fort at Paraty

Inside the Fort on One of the Cobblestone Streets

About sayslife

On Sabbatical to live out some Bucket List dreams. Life just keeps zooming along, and friends keep passing away. Time to live never seems enough, as the daily duties always seem to keep calling. Now I'm changing that. Gonna see the world. Come along for the ride - you're invited :)
This entry was posted in Brazil. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last Day in Paradise – er, Paraty!

  1. Say,
    I just want to say that I have read all of your blog stories about your trip to Brazil. I knew you were a wild one, but now I know for sure you are the cowgirl goddess of courage and bravery. The efforts that you made to put yourself into so many interesting situations, how careful you were – most of the time – and how dedicated you were to being in the moment. I see you as such an incredible teacher and I’m sure that all of these experiences will be added to the story of your life and how magically you have lived it. And it ain’t over until the fat lady sings…..

    • sayslife says:

      Wow! Don’t know how I missed this very kind comment you gave me, but am just now reading it 6 years later, it appears! So glad to know you, Jill! You are an amazing inspiration for people everywhere! Hugs and Love, Say

  2. sun says:

    WOW!!!!! What a big honor! Hi~ I’m a Korean lady in the bus on the way to El Chalten last month. Finally I visit your wonderful blog right after I came back home. Even though it was a very short talk, I was very happy to know you and now I realized that you are such a great traveler or adventurer of the life and the world. I had only couple of days in Sao Paulo in Brazil so I missed the chance to go to Praty. Praty in your bolg which looks very peaceful and like a paradise for healing is beyond my imagination. When I was heading to Brazil, I was a bit afraid but in the end it was silly. I really liked Sao Paulo and decided to visit Brazil soon again to explore its charm. Thank you for inviting me to your brilliant blog. I wish I can come across you in a corner of this beautiful world.

    • sayslife says:

      Thank you for your kind words and it was indeed a pleasure to meet you, too! I would love to come to Korea one day. Feel free to send me your contact info and we can chat through our emails. Mine is sayward.a@gmail.com so honored to hear from you. I really enjoyed our coversations on the bus 🙂

Leave a comment